Docomomo US offers condolences on the loss of Pauline Saliga


Michelangelo Sabatino


Docomomo US Board


In memorial
Image details

Docomomo US is deeply saddened by the loss of our colleague Pauline Saliga. The following letter was written to the Society of Architectural Historians on behalf of the board and staff.

Dear Prof. Patricia Morton -

On behalf of Docomomo US we would like to offer our sincere condolences for the loss of our friend and collaborator Pauline Saliga. During the many productive years of her distinguished tenure as executive director of the Society of Architectural Historians, Pauline was a passionate advocate for the preservation of the built environment. The establishment of the SAH Heritage Conservation Committee is an important outcome of her leadership. She enthusiastically participated in the preparation of issuing statements on the demolition of the Nakagin Capsule Tower in Tokyo and one in support of the preservation of Kresge College at UCSC to the support of our joint preservation roundtable on Postmodernism in Providence, Rhode Island in 2019. We are reminded time after time of how SAH, through Pauline’s leadership, has demonstrated that advocacy and preservation go hand in hand with scholarship. 

Although Pauline’s leadership was both national and international (recall SAH’s letters concerning Nepal and Peru), especially for those of our Board who are based in Chicago, we have witnessed firsthand Pauline’s deep commitment to the city in which she was born. Whether working to establish the Charnley-Persky House Museum, supporting the listing of the James R. Thompson Center on the National Register of Historic Places, or writing about Bruce Goff, Pauline demonstrated her deep love for a city that loved her back in spades.


Docomomo US:
Robert Meckfessel (President)
Katie Horak (President-Elect)
Jesús (Chuy) Barba Bonilla
Meredith Arms Bzdak
Flora Chou
Todd Grover
Gunny Harboe
Eric Keune
Rachel Leibowitz
Anna Mod
Robert Nauman
Theodore Prudon
Robert Pullum
Michelangelo Sabatino
Monica Schaffer
Barry Solar
Bradford J. White
Barbara Yanni

Liz Waytkus (Executive Director)
Michele Racioppi (Program & Communication Manager)